To my friends… yes, you.

Friendship is something I value–sometimes more than food, coffee, personal hygiene/health (yikes!), and money. If there is one thing that my friends know about me, it’s that I care A LOT about having good people in my life, and that I care A LOT about them.

I’ve started to realize that I’m at an age where I don’t have to be friends with everyone I meet. You know, when you first get to college, you befriend everyone because you don’t want to be alone. And sometimes those friends become extremely unhealthy for your mental and physical well-being, and you know this relationship isn’t good for you, but yet, you keep them around. I’m old enough now where I can pick and choose who I’m going to be friends with. I know it sounds harsh, but if you think about it, it’s not. I want people in my life who are going to push me to be better, to be stronger, to be happier. This doesn’t mean that I’m going to stop making all attempts to get out there and meet people and make new friends… I just know that if I don’t feel good about the friendship, well, then it’s ok.

I have friends all across the country–from Athens, summers at BUTI/Bowdoin to my years in Ithaca; musicians, colleagues, co-workers; my family in NH and NY, sisters, brother, parents, pets; friends of friends; and now, my new home in Philly.

The list seems endless, and I feel so incredibly lucky.

My friends are compassionate, caring, understanding, and smart. Heck, my friends are REALLY SMART. Some of them are musicians, some are not. Some of them are corporate workers, therapists, counselors, professors, teachers, and students. They are extremely observant and think critically about the world we live in. They challenge me to be more considerate and to be a better person. They are there for me through thick and thin. They keep my head on straight when I’m not able to think clearly.

My friends are teachers (some literally, but mostly figuratively). They teach me about relationships, loyalty, politics, literature, love, food, health, family, religion, communication, musicianship, work ethic, attitude, therapy…and so much more.

Friends, wherever you are, know that I think about you often. Know that I am always in awe of your talents, your goofy personality, and your crazy charisma. Some of you I haven’t seen in years, months, or just a few weeks. I wish I had more time to visit and catch up. I wish I had more money so I could travel and see you more often. But in the meantime, I will continue to be humbled by your presence in my life.

“Friendship is the hardest thing in the world to explain. It’s not something you learn in school. But if you haven’t learned the meaning of friendship, you really haven’t learned anything.”
― Muhammad Ali

Leave a Reply

