Ratatouille

I’ve been searching for recipes that include more greens. At the beginning of my second week eating clean, I realized that I wasn’t eating enough veggies. And I don’t particularly enjoy eating raw veggies, so it was time to get creative. Last week I took the plunge by trying to add a new veggie to my diet-zucchini. I’ve had zucchini before, but I’ve never prepared it on my own (check out my recipe for Almond Crusted Chicken). I loved it so much that I knew that I had to try zucchini (and other squash) again!

Note: Most ratatouille recipes call for bell peppers. I personally do not like the texture of cooked (mushy) peppers. If you are super sensitive to texture, then maybe this recipe is not for you. The zucchini, squash, and eggplant become soft, yet wonderfully flavorful.

Ingredients: 

  • 2 medium zucchini
  • 2 medium yellow squash
  • 1 yellow onion
  • 1 medium to large eggplant
  • 6oz can tomato paste
  • 3 medium red tomatoes
  • 3 cups sliced mushrooms (optional)
  • 2-3 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil
  • Add seasonings to taste: parsley, basil, red pepper flakes, black pepper
Look at those vibrant colors!
Look at those vibrant colors!

Directions: I decided to use my crock pot for this recipe, because I’m obsessed with it. Don’t hate.

  • Dice and slice all of the veggies.
  • Place HALF of ALL veggies in the crockpot. Top this layer with 1.5 Tbsp of minced garlic, 1 Tbsp olive oil, half of seasonings to taste, and half of the tomato paste.
  • Place the remaining veggies on top and layer with remaining garlic, olive oil, tomato paste, and seasonings.
  • (Your crockpot should be FULL, almost to the top, with veggies!)
  • Set crockpot to Low setting, 7-9 hours.

Optional: Serve with brown rice or quinoa. I topped mine off with shredded Parmesan cheese!

Served with quinoa.
Served with quinoa.

Nutrition Facts: (does not include quinoa or cheese)

Servings: 6, Calories: 143

Total Fat 5g, Sodium 36mg, Total Carbs 23g, Dietary Fiber 8g, Sugar 11g, Protein 5g

Looking for a recipe nutrition calculator? MyFitnessPal has a very user friendly website just for that!

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/recipe/calculator

Leave a Reply

