Sweet Potato Lentil Stew

My sister Carly is spending a semester in Italy. She often texts me asking for some cooking advice, or how to get by on a low budget. One morning she asked if I’ve ever tried lentils, and I realized that I haven’t! Carly and I enjoy almost all the same foods, so I knew that this was something that I needed to incorporate into my diet, especially since she enjoyed them so much!

I did some research on lentils, and found that they are inexpensive and can provide up to a third of our daily protein requirement. They are good for your digestive health, high in fiber, low in calories, and extremely easy to cook! I did some modifications to a recipe I found online, and whatever I had in my cabinet. And if you are keeping track of your daily fiber intake, this recipe logs 11g of fiber for one serving (daily suggestion is 25g)! The addition of rosemary and oregano makes this a wonderful lunch or dinner for a chilly, winter day. Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium-large sweet potatoes
  • 2 cups grated carrots
  • 1 medium yellow onion
  • 4 stalks celery
  • 2 cups chopped green beans
  • 15 oz diced tomatoes
  • 2 cups green lentils
  • 2 Tbsp minced garlic
  • 64 oz vegetable broth
  • 2 tsp rosemary
  • 2 tsp oregano
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp crushed black pepper

Directions:

  • Slice and dice all veggies. I decided to shred my carrots, but you may decide to chop them instead. This step is the most time consuming. Took me about 30 minutes.

picstitch

  • Peel skin off of the potatoes and dice into bite size pieces.

FullSizeRender

  • Place all veggies in crockpot, add seasonings (garlic, rosemary, oregano, salt, pepper).

picstitch-2

  • Add vegetable broth and lentils to the crockpot. Your crockpot will be filled to the top!
  • Set crockpot to 9-10 hours on low. This is a recipe where you can turn on the crockpot as your leaving for work, and come home to a warm, delicious meal!

fullsizerender-23

Nutrition Facts: 

Servings: 6, Calories: 175

Total Fat 0g, Sodium 863mg, Total Carbs 40g, Dietary Fiber 11g, Sugar 11g, Protein 8g

Looking for a recipe nutrition calculator? MyFitnessPal has a very user friendly website just for that!

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/recipe/calculator

Leave a Reply

