Vanilla Chia Seed Pancakes

I love breakfast. No, see, I don’t think you get it. I FREAKING LOVE BREAKFAST. Thankfully, it’s the most important meal of the day, so it’s a meal I’m not willing to skip. Since starting a vegan lifestyle, I have found it difficult to find recipes that are similar to what I was eating before (Veggie Quiche, or even a hard boiled egg with toast).

I tried to make my breakfast quiche with Ener-g egg replacement. It was a fail. It was gooey and gross, and I was SO disappointed that all of those vegetables went to waste. After that, I started to get into oatmeal. I made this amazing oatmeal dish (coming soon) where you whip banana and chia seeds over the stove. It’s SO GOOD, except, I was tired of it after making it every day for 2 weeks. Frankly, it lost its appeal. I was still emotionally wounded from my Ener-g egg replacement fail, but was ready for something else. And then it hit me. Pancakes.

These pancakes are DELICIOUS! Eggs are definitely not needed. You can top them off with anything you’d like: walnuts, almonds, berries, bananas… GET CRAZY. I decided to do banana slices (only using half of a banana) and sprinkled some unsweetened coconut flakes on top. Also substituted agave nectar for maple syrup–I realized too late in the game that I was out of syrup. 😦

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups whole wheat flower
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3 Tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon (add nutmeg if you’d like!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup almond milk and 1/2 cup of water (or 1.5 cups of almond milk)

Directions:

  • Mix all dry ingredients together.

FullSizeRender-26

  • Add cider, almond milk and water to dry ingredients.
    • PS- I hope you all enjoy the chemical reaction with the baking soda and vinegar as much as I did!
  • Let sit for 5-10 minutes so that the chia seeds can expand! Believe me, it’s worth the wait!
  • Heat griddle, and DO NOT flips those pancakes over until you see bubbles forming! Patience, young grasshopper.

FullSizeRender-29

  • Warm up some maple syrup add your favorite toppings, and enjoy!

FullSizeRender-28

Nutrition Facts:

Serving Size: 8-10 pancakes (varies depending on the size of your pancakes). The pancakes pictured about are really large, so I only ended up making 4. Calories: 125

Total Fat 4g, Sodium 378mg, Total Carbs 20g, Dietary Fiber 6g, Sugar 1g, Protein 4g

Looking for a recipe nutrition calculator? MyFitnessPal has a very user friendly website just for that!

http://www.myfitnesspal.com/recipe/calculator

Leave a Reply

